The Almighty Brookie

I’m sure by now everyone has seen the commercial for Papa John’s new brookie. If you have not, it’s basically a pie where the crust is chocolate chip cookie and the filling is chocolate chip brownie. I see this commercial all the time and it always makes me hungry. I try my best to not eat fast food of any kind and have done really well with that over the last few years. I actually can’t even tell you the last time I ordered anything from Papa John’s and it used to be my go to place for pizza for awhile. As a clean eater, I do not even want to imagine what a Papa John’s product would do to my system now. Luckily, I love to bake and I like creating in the kitchen. So obviously I had to make my own brookie. Since I eat clean and keep a plant based diet, this recipe follows that and is both dairy free and oil free. I seriously want everyone to make this and enjoy it for everything it is, pure amazingness. My wife does not want me to share this but I feel like to have to. America needs to make this!

IMG_1298

Cookie Crust

  • ¾ cup all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ⅛ teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 2 tablespoons cane sugar
  • ½ cup semi-sweet dairy-free chocolate chips
  • ¾ cup super creamy peanut butter (melt to a smooth liquid if it is cold or really thick before measuring) – if you use pure peanut butter your recipe will be fully oil free, if not that’s ok, it just depends on how strict you want to be
  • ¼ cup + 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon regular unsulphured molasses
  • 1 tablespoon water
  1. Add the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar to a large bowl and whisk very well to ensure there are no lumps. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  2. In a separate medium bowl, combine the peanut butter, syrup, vanilla, molasses and water. Stir until completely smooth. Pour over the dry ingredients and stir for a couple of minutes until all the dough comes together and no more flour is visible. It should be very sticky and thick, but not stiff.
  3. Place the dough into a pie tin (I used glass so my baking time reflects that) and press to fit the tin in the shape of a crust. Set aside and make your brownie.

Brownie

  • ¾ cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ cup cocoa powder (I used dark chocolate because it’s awesome)
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp water
  • ¾ cup cane sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp flax meal plus 6 tbsp water, whisked together
  • ½ cup chocolate chips
  1. Sift all the dry ingredients, including the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt, into a bowl and set aside.
  2. In another bowl mix together the maple syrup, water, sugar, flaxmeal mixture, and vanilla extract.
  3. Whisk together until well mixed.
  4. Add the flour-cocoa mixture to this in 3 batches, mixing well after each addition using a spatula.
  5. Stir in  the chocolate chips. The batter will be really thick.
  6. Pour brownie mixture into your prepared cookie crust
  7. Bake in a preheated 350-degree oven for 25-30 minutes. After 30 minutes, if you stick a toothpick into the brownie it will not be clean. That’s ok, take it out anyway. It will continue to cook as it sets. Your cookie may feel very soft still as well, again this is ok as the same will happen. Brownies and cookies cook at different times normally so I feel if you bake it any longer you will over bake the cookie. Let it sit until both the cookie and brownie firm up a bit before eating. I happened to let mine sit for a few hours and it was still warm and awesome when we ate it.

IMG_1297

I most certainly hope you enjoy!

-Chef Drew

One thought on “The Almighty Brookie

  1. Looks so delicious. It combines my two favorite desserts. Now I just have to try a stove-top version of your recipe as we don’t have an oven.

    Like

Leave a Reply

