The Healthiest Dessert Ever!

Not even kidding. This is probably the healthiest dessert I have ever come across. But don’t let that fool you. It may be healthy but it is amazing and a great substitute to the real thing.

I think it’s safe to say that a lot of people go absolutely crazy for raw cookie dough (I know my wife sure does.) What if you could eat it without all the guilt and shame that come from polishing off a full tube of that delicious sugary creamy dough? Well now you can. This recipe comes from a site we have used before and love, Oh She Glows. When I stumbled on this one I knew I had to try it. I always like experimenting and trying the recipes that almost seem impossible, the ones that you read and say “there’s no way this is gonna taste like that!” This was one of those and trust me, if you don’t think of what it’s made from, it looks and tastes like real chocolate chip cookie dough. The fun part is it’s made from potatoes. Not only is it yummy but it’s entirely plant based, gluten-free, grain-free, oil-free, and soy-free. It does however, call for nut butter so if you have and kind of nut allergies this isn’t for you. The original recipe says you can exclude it if you want but honestly I don’t see how you could. it calls for cashew butter but I used regular natural peanut butter because it’s what we had. I had intended on making my own cashew butter but it takes like a half our in the food processor and I did not feel like doing that, Some day I will but not today.

So here it is, Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookie Pota’Dough

IMG_1134

 

240 grams yellow-skinned cooked potatoes, peeled (approx. 1 1/3 cups)

6-7 tbsp pure maple syrup, or to taste (I used about 8 because I like things sweet)

3 tbsp cashew nut butter (again, I used regular natural peanut butter)

1/2 tbsp pure vanilla extract

1/2 tsp fine grain sea salt, or to taste

1/3 cups dairy free chocolate chips (plus more to top with)

 

Directions:

  1. Peel and roughly chop the potatoes. Cook the potatoes in a pot of water until tender, about 20 minutes. Drain.
  2. In a food processor, immediately add the cooked potatoes (still hot), nut butter, vanilla, and maple syrup. Do not use cold potatoes or the texture will be like mashed potatoes instead of a silky dip. Process until smooth for at least a couple of minutes, stopping to scrape down the bowl as necessary. Make sure no clumps remain. Adjust sweetness if desired.
  3. Place mixture in the fridge for a minimum of 30 minutes (preferably an hour) to chill and then stir in the chocolate chips just before serving. Top with a few extra chips and enjoy. Serve with graham crackers, fresh fruit, cookies, cinnamon sugar pita chips, or the way we had it – by the spoon full.

There you have it, the healthiest dessert ever!

Bon Appetite!

-Chef Drew

One thought on “The Healthiest Dessert Ever!

Leave a Reply

