You asked for it, you got it

I posted a picture of our dinner last night without the intention of blogging it. It wasn’t anything really over the top but turned out to be a great meal that I am pretty proud of so I threw the picture and description up. The results showed me there really are people I am friends with on Facebook that follow my posts and are interested in our recipes from time to time. Every post always gets a few likes but it’s hard to tell how many people click the link and read what I have to say and try to recreate our meals based off my recipes. When people actually comment requesting me to post the recipes it really gives me a great feeling to know people like what I make and want to try new things with less meat and dairy products. Even if it’s just the picture that sucks you in I’m glad to see you’re ready to experiment. So here it is, Spaghetti squash with broccoli, cauliflower Alfredo. The Alfredo was based on a recipe from Plant Pure Nation, but like any chef I modified a few things. These were pretty minor changes but I feel like they had a big impact on the overall finished dish.

IMG_1053

When it comes to spaghetti squash there are a few ways to make it. I prefer baking mine as opposed to boiling it. To bake, simply preheat your oven to 350. Cut the squash in half lengthwise and scoop out the seeds. Drizzle a little olive oil on each half and season however you like. I usually use salt, pepper, smoked paprika, and garlic powder. Place on a baking sheet cut side down so the steam stays underneath and cooks it through. Bake for 45 minutes to an hour until tender. Remove from the oven and allow to cool until you can pick it up to scrape the insides out with a fork.

Cauliflower Alfredo:

1 head cauliflower, broken into florets

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

2 cups nondairy milk

1/4 cup nutritional yeast flakes

1 Tbs Dijon mustard

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add cauliflower and boil for 15 minutes. Drain.
  2. Add all ingredients to a high powered blender or food processor and blend until creamy.

For my recipe I didn’t have regular Dijon mustard. I used a Whole Grain Dijon from trader Joes. It has a great flavor and the seeds aren’t fully ground. I think it added a great taste and texture to the Alfredo as opposed to basic Dijon.

IMG_1054

Also, I like my Alfredo a little thicker so I only used 1 1/2 cups of Almond milk and it came out perfect. I would suggest starting with the same amount and if you like yours a little thinner, add the remaining 1/2 cup until it’s the consistency you like.

Scrape your squash with a fork once it is cool into a large skillet over medium heat. Saute with a little vegan butter for 5-10 minutes to reheat and give a little crunch. Toss in the Alfredo. Steam your broccoli florets for 5-10 minutes, I like mine with a good crunch still so I don’t steam it for very long. Once cooked to your preference, toss into the squash and Alfredo. Top with a little extra cracked pepper and serve.

Bon Appetite!

-Chef Drew

Leave a Reply

