I got two words for you…..Beer Brats!

A few weeks ago we went to our favorite vegan restaurant and their spacial of the day was a bratwurst so of course I had to get it. This got me thinking, as I usually do when I eat there, and I decided I needed to recreate this wonderful meal. After some research and picking the right ingredients I cooked me some awesome beer brats. When we ate meat, one of my favorite meals was a good sausage with pepper and onions or a brat and some kraut. This brought back some amazing memories and I will def be making these again and again and again. The only downfall is for anyone who is gluten free, you will not be able to eat these as they call for vital wheat gluten to act as a binding agent. If you are unfamiliar with this ingredient, it is basically straight powdered gluten. If you are interested in making vegan sausage of any kind, Bob’s Red Mill makes a version of vital wheat gluten and I found it in the baking aisle at Harris Teeter along with the other Bob’s flour products.

IMG_0952

Ingredients:

1 can white kidney beans, drained and rinsed

1 cup wet hop beer, flat (I used a Hefeweizen from Olde Hickory because I love my local NC beer and I knew Hefeweizen would give my brats a great flavor)

IMG_0942

2 Tbs olive oil

1/4 tsp liquid smoke

1/4 cup ground dried shitake mushrooms (found these in the grocery store with the dried beans)

1 tsp salt

1 tsp white pepper

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp smoked paprika

1 tsp marjoram

1 tsp sage

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp mustard powder

1/4 tsp caraway seeds

1 1/4 cup vital wheat gluten

IMG_0954

1/4 cup nutritional yeast

Directions

  1. Finely mash your beans with a fork, then add in your beer, liquid smoke, and the spices, mix well.
  2. in a separate bowl mix together the vital wheat gluten, mushrooms, and nutritional yeast.
  3. Mix the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients. Knead for a minute to bring it all together.
  4. Divide into 6 pieces, shape into sausage form, then warp tightly like a tootsie roll in aluminum foil, twisting the ends. (when researching I found people had issues with theirs sticking to the foil when steaming so I put in a layer of parchment paper as well)

IMG_0946

              5. Steam for 40 minutes. After steaming unwrap and grill for a few minutes                     on each side in some earth balance butter.

Serve and enjoy. I used some great homemade mustard and topped with some sauteed onions, red peppers, and mushrooms caramelized in homemade brown sugar and they were absolutely delicious. Served with a side of oil based homemade slaw.

Bon appetite

-Chef Drew

Leave a Reply

