I couldn’t find a great egg pun so this one doesn’t have a title

Since becoming vegan I have been on a search to find great breakfasts. Growing up my family always had Sunday brunch and it’s a tradition I carried over into my marriage. When we have the time off together I love getting up and making brunch for Melissa but let’s face it, when you’re used to bacon and eggs, becoming vegan gets a little tricky. This weekend I decided it had been too long and I was gonna make an omelet and have some brunch. I found this great recipe from one of our top go to sites, forks over knives. This is a quick and easy recipe for chickpea omelets and came out delicious and more filling than most meat and dairy breakfasts I’ve ever had. It calls for chickpea flour, which you can buy (Bob’s Red Mill makes a version) or you can do what I did and grind your own. A bag of chickpeas is really cheap and it takes just a few minutes in a high speed blender to make your own flour. A word to the wise though, chickpeas are very hard and blending them is really really loud. My dogs did not like this process. Because it uses flour as the base, these omelets are not very “eggy” but come out more like a pancake texture. Call it whatever you want, it was tasty!

IMG_0923

1 Cup Chickpea flour

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp white pepper

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/4 cup nutritional yeast

1/2 tsp baking soda

your favorite omelet veggies (I used mushrooms and green pepper)

Instructions:

1. Combine the chickpea flour, onion powder, garlic powder, white pepper, black pepper, nutritional yeast, and baking soda in a small bowl. Add 1 cup water and stir until the batter is smooth.

2. Heat a frying pan over medium heat. Pour the batter into the pan, as if making pancakes. Sprinkle your veggies into the batter for each omelet as it cooks. Flip the omelet. When the underside is browned, flip the omelet again, and cook the other side for a minute.

3. Serve your amazing Chickpea Omelet topped with avocado and salsa (or whatever else you like)

For more great recipes check out Forks Over Knives, and my other blog posts.

Bon Appetite!

-Chef Drew

Leave a Reply

