I Blessed The Rains Down In Africa

These last few days have been gray, rainy, and chilly. I guess fall is officially here. It’s been multiple days now and when that happens I get in the mood for soups and stews. There’s nothing like a good hearty stew to warm you up on a cold crappy day. I picked this one from Plant Pure Nation because it sounded really really really good and luckily we had most of the ingredients. I am so happy I made it. It was really easy to prepare, cooked in the crock pot so there was nothing the cooking aspect either, and tasted absolutely amazing. It’s full of great veggies and really has a ton of flavor from the coconut, curry, and peanut butter. I served this bad boy with a big chunk of french bread and a glass of Chardonnay and boy oh boy did it hit the spot. Here is the recipe from the cook book with my slight adaptations.

Creamy African Stew

2 onions, sliced into half rings

1 carrot, diced

3 celery stalks, diced

2 tsp minced garlic

2 sweet potatoes, cut into cubes

1 cup low sodium vegetable stock

one 28 oz can diced tomatoes

1 Tbs curry powder

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/3 cup all-natural peanut butter (I didn’t go to a specialty store and used 90% peanuts instead of 100% and it didn’t make a difference to me)

1 cup coconut milk (they called for lite, I used regular)

one 15 oz can chickpeas, rinsed and drained

2 cups chopped frozen spinach

This is the original directions

  1. Add all the ingredients to a pot and cook over high heat until bubbly, 10-15 minutes
  2. Turn down heat and simmer for 30 minutes, or until sweet potatoes are tender.

Under hints from Kim she suggested making it in a slow cooker which is what I did because it’s easier and I love when a stew cooks for multiple hours for all the flavors to really come together.

I put all ingredients into my crock pot and cooked on high for 3 hours, then turned it to low for another hour or so until the wife got home from work. By far one of my new favorite stews.

IMG_0870

Again this recipe was taken from Plant Pure Nation by Kim Campbell

IMG_0842

Leave a Reply

