This sh@% is bananas! B-A-N-A-N-A-S

I absolutely love bananas! I can honestly say I am obsessed with them. That includes anything that is banana flavored as well. I always have for as long as I can remember. When I was a kid Snackwells used to make these little banana bread bars that were absolutely amazing. Obviously I didn’t know back then that Snackwells was still a bunch of crap but it didn’t matter. I could eat like a million of them. The 1 box a week my mom bought was never enough and no one else ever got any, they were all mine. To this day banana bread is truly still one of my all time favorites.

A few months back we had some really ripe bananas at the end of the week, and when I say really ripe I mean super brown and squishy. So in an effort to save them I looked up some ideas to bake. Melissa loves muffins and I love bananas so it seemed pretty logical to make banana muffins. This recipe is super easy, we always have the ingredients in the house and you’re enjoying them in 30 minutes. Great for a breakfast, a snack, or whenever really. Oh yea and guess what they are vegan.

  • 3 very ripe bananas
  • 1/4 cup vegan margarine, softened
  • 1 cup cane sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat over to 360 degrees

In a large bowl, mash the bananas with a fork until soft. Add the margarine and sugar and cream together.

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, salt, and baking soda. Combine with the banana mixture, stirring gently just to combine. If using walnuts, combine now.

Place silicone muffin molds in pan and fill each muffin about 2/3 full with batter. Bake for about 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into a muffin comes out clean.

Makes 6 medium muffins or 12 small muffins.

IMG_0575 (800x697)IMG_0576 (800x664)

Tastes great cold or heated with a little butter on top (I usually eat two at a time, 1 each way) These do not last long in our house.

Enjoy!

Chef Drew

Leave a Reply

